The shared input, and what it can and cannot compare
The shared input for this comparison is fixed: country Japan, 4 days of annual leave, a Saturday-Sunday weekend, no company days, year 2027. Every BeadCalc figure in this article uses exactly that input, and nothing else. The tool has three strategy modes, and they answer three different questions, so all three are reported side by side rather than picking the flattering one.
A fair warning before the tables: this is not a four-way race on identical inputs, because identical inputs are impossible here. LeaveGain covers only Malaysia and Singapore, and Leavelift covers only the United States and Canada, so neither can accept a Japan input at all. BridgeDays does cover Japan, but no BridgeDays run was made for this article, so this article claims no BridgeDays figure for Japan. What follows for the rivals is therefore their documented behaviour from their public homepages, not a second set of measurements, and the step counts below are the steps each site itself describes, not a stopwatch timing.
One more boundary, stated up front: the tool covers 10 countries for 2027 only. Its country list is the United States, the United Kingdom (England and Wales), Germany, France, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Canada (federal), Singapore, and Hong Kong. Mainland China 2027 data is not in this version; it will be added after the State Council publishes the 2027 holiday schedule. Do not read any result in this article as covering mainland China.
What BeadCalc actually produces on that input
On Japan with 4 days of leave, the three strategies return three different answers, because they optimise different things. The longest-single-break strategy returns one stretch only. The spread-evenly strategy returns a set of stretches whose total is the headline. The all-opportunities strategy does not choose at all: it lists every candidate, sorted by efficiency, and it is not filtered by the 4-day budget.
| Strategy | Result on Japan, 4 days of leave | Leave days used |
|---|---|---|
| Longest single break | 12 days off, 2027-04-24 to 2027-05-05 (3.0x) | 2027-04-26, 2027-04-27, 2027-04-28, 2027-04-30 |
| Spread evenly | 19 days off in total, across 4 breaks (4.8x) | 2027-02-12, 2027-04-30, 2027-09-24, 2027-11-22 |
| All opportunities | Full candidate list, not filtered by the 4-day budget; top row 7 days off for 1 leave day (7.0x) | Varies by row; the top row uses 2027-04-30 |
The 12-day stretch is the Golden Week window: Saturday 2027-04-24 through Wednesday 2027-05-05, using leave on Monday 2027-04-26, Tuesday 2027-04-27, Wednesday 2027-04-28, and Friday 2027-04-30. The public holidays inside it are Thursday 2027-04-29, Monday 2027-05-03, Tuesday 2027-05-04, and Wednesday 2027-05-05, with weekends on both sides. Four leave days buy twelve days off, which is where the 3.0x efficiency figure comes from: 12 divided by 4.
The spread-evenly total of 19 days is four separate breaks added together, not one long holiday: 2027-02-11 to 2027-02-14 (4 days, 1 leave day), 2027-04-29 to 2027-05-05 (7 days, 1 leave day), 2027-09-23 to 2027-09-26 (4 days, 1 leave day), and 2027-11-20 to 2027-11-23 (4 days, 1 leave day). That is 4 plus 7 plus 4 plus 4, which is 19, and 19 divided by 4 is 4.75, shown as 4.8x. If you want one uninterrupted trip, the 12-day figure is the honest number; if you want the most days off across the year, the 19-day total is.
The all-opportunities list needs a careful reading. Its top row is 2027-04-29 to 2027-05-05, 7 days off for 1 leave day, at 7.0x. The same list also contains the 12-day row, and a 16-day row from 2027-05-01 to 2027-05-16 that uses 7 leave days. That 16-day row costs more than the 4-day budget entered, which is the proof that the list ignores the budget: it shows everything, and the budget only matters once you pick a strategy that selects.
Getting the plan out of the tool
Two export paths were verified on this exact input. The Copy leave list button produces plain text that reads, in full: Plan: Japan 2027; Breaks: 2027-04-24 to 2027-05-05 (12 days off); Leave days: 2027-04-26, 2027-04-27, 2027-04-28, 2027-04-30. The Download .ics button downloads a file named leave-2027.ics, a standard VCALENDAR 2.0 file with one all-day event per leave day. Both were verified by actually downloading and reading the outputs, not by reading button labels. What was not tested in this round is how the .ics file renders after import into Google Calendar, Outlook, or Apple Calendar, so this article claims the file and its contents, not the imported display.
The head-to-head table
This is the whole comparison on one table. Read the cells literally: where a cell says Unconfirmed, the rival homepage does not state the answer, and this article does not guess it. Where a cell says Not mentioned, the feature does not appear in the homepage text at all. Step counts are the steps each site itself lists on its homepage, so they are comparable as descriptions, not as timed trials.
| Planner | Countries and years | Price and account | Steps or inputs before a plan | .ics export | Copyable leave list |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BeadCalc Leave Optimizer | 10 countries, 2027 only; mainland China not in v1 | Free, no account, runs entirely in the browser | 4 inputs: country, leave days, weekend, strategy | Yes: leave-2027.ics download | Yes: Copy leave list button |
| BridgeDays | 206 countries, 2026 to 2028 | Free (0 USD), no sign-up, runs in the browser | 5 steps listed on its homepage | Yes: standard .ics, one event per break or one per booked day | Not stated; shares by copied link instead |
| LeaveGain | Malaysia (16 states and federal territories) and Singapore, 2026 and 2027 | Free, no account, settings saved in browser localStorage | 3 steps listed on its homepage | Unconfirmed | Not mentioned on its homepage |
| Leavelift | United States (50 states plus DC) and Canada (all provinces and territories), 2025 to 2035 | Free plan limited to the current planning year; Pro 2.99 USD per month or 19.99 USD per year | 3 steps listed on its homepage | Unconfirmed: homepage says plans can be saved, shared, and exported, without naming .ics; premium exports are Pro | Not mentioned on its homepage |
The table already shows the shape of the verdict. BeadCalc is the only planner here that pairs a measured Japan result with both a .ics download and a copyable leave list. BridgeDays beats it on coverage by an order of magnitude and matches it on .ics. LeaveGain and Leavelift each win inside their own geography, and lose the Japan comparison by not covering Japan at all. The rest of this article fills in the detail behind each row.
BridgeDays: the broadest map, and where BeadCalc still differs
BridgeDays is the coverage leader by a wide margin: 206 countries with holidays for 2026, 2027, and 2028, against 10 countries and one year for BeadCalc. Eleven of its countries were checked by hand against the official calendar: Romania, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, the United States, Canada, and Australia. The rest use the date-holidays open source library as it stands, and the site says so on screen. Japan is not among the eleven hand-checked countries, so its Japan dates come from that library, not from a hand check. Regional holidays are included for 33 countries, including United States states, Canadian provinces, Australian states, and the four United Kingdom nations.
Its homepage describes five steps: pick the country and region, enter the leave allowance and choose the year, choose the kind of time off, read the answer, then adjust it by fixing working days into the plan or ruling them out. It offers three goals: several proper breaks of at least five days, one long trip, or the most days off in total. It also allows a custom working week, a moved leave-year start, excluded dates, and a birthday added as leave where an employer grants one. On exports it is explicit: a standard .ics calendar file that Google Calendar, Outlook, and Apple Calendar can all import, saved either as one event per break or one event per booked day for HR systems that count days. Sharing works by copying the link, since the plan lives in the page address, and there is no sign-up, no email, and no cookies.
Against that, BeadCalc keeps three genuine differences. First, company days: clicking any working day on the calendar marks it as an extra day off, which is how a team shutdown or an employer-granted day enters the plan. Second, the copyable leave list in plain text, which BridgeDays does not state as a feature. Third, three strategies shown as three different answers to the same input, including the unfiltered all-opportunities list, rather than one plan per goal. None of those differences closes the coverage gap: on countries covered and years covered, BridgeDays wins outright, and this article does not pretend otherwise.
LeaveGain: the two-country specialist
LeaveGain covers exactly two countries: Malaysia, with all 16 states and federal territories, and Singapore, for 2026 and 2027. That narrowness is also its strength. A Malaysia user can filter holidays by state, which neither BeadCalc nor BridgeDays country-level view is designed around in the same way, and Singapore uses its nationwide holidays without a state selection. Its homepage describes three steps: pick the place, set the leave budget, and find the best combinations. It supports Monday-to-Friday, Monday-to-Saturday, and custom working weeks, and the annual plan picks a budget-constrained combination of non-overlapping breaks, which is close in spirit to the way the BeadCalc spread-evenly strategy fills a budget.
LeaveGain is unusually candid about its own limits: the search looks only at holiday-adjacent candidates, so it does not guarantee a global optimum across every possible trip. It is free with no account required, and settings are saved in the browser localStorage with nothing sent to its servers. What its homepage does not mention is a .ics export, so this article records .ics support as Unconfirmed rather than claiming it either way. It also does not mention company-day tapping or a copyable leave list. And because it does not cover Japan, the shared Japan input of this article simply does not apply to it: there is no LeaveGain Japan figure to report, and none is invented here.
Leavelift: the North America planner with a paywall on the full year
Leavelift covers the United States, all 50 states plus DC, and Canada, all provinces and territories, with holiday data for every year from 2025 through 2035. That eleven-year span is the longest in this comparison, against one year for BeadCalc. Its distinctive feature is school-break awareness: it knows typical United States school calendars, so families can line trips up with spring break, summer, and winter recess instead of pulling children out of class. BeadCalc has no equivalent feature. Its homepage describes three steps: tell it the calendar (state or province, PTO budget, whether school breaks matter), let it scan the whole year, and plan before booking.
Its pricing is the most complicated here. The free plan finds the best windows for the current planning year only. Pro costs 2.99 USD per month or 19.99 USD per year, and unlocks year-round planning, unlimited saved configurations, premium exports, and better sharing. Its homepage example is its own, and it is not comparable to the Japan input: 11 PTO days become 28 days off in 2026 in the United States, across Thanksgiving, the year-end holidays, and July 4th windows. That example is quoted here because it is the number Leavelift itself advertises, not because it answers the Japan question. On exports, the homepage says a plan is a calendar that can be saved, shared, and exported, but it never names the .ics format, and premium exports belong to Pro. So .ics support is recorded as Unconfirmed, and the free plan cannot be assumed to export at all.
Where BeadCalc wins, and where it loses
The honest scorecard has BeadCalc losing on breadth and winning on depth for the countries it does cover. It loses on country count, 10 against 206 for BridgeDays. It loses on year span, one year against three for BridgeDays and eleven for Leavelift. It loses on regional granularity outside its two grouped cases, the United Kingdom as England and Wales and Canada as the federal set, where BridgeDays offers state and province data for 33 countries and LeaveGain offers state filtering for Malaysia. It has no school-break awareness, where Leavelift does.
| If you need | The documented fit |
|---|---|
| The widest country coverage | BridgeDays: 206 countries, 2026 to 2028 |
| Malaysia or Singapore, filtered by state | LeaveGain: 16 Malaysian states and federal territories plus Singapore |
| United States or Canada, with school breaks | Leavelift: 50 states plus DC and all Canadian provinces, 2025 to 2035; check whether the free plan covers your year |
| Japan 2027, with company days and a copyable list | BeadCalc Leave Optimizer: 12 days off from 4 leave days, plus .ics and a leave list |
| A .ics file you can verify today | BeadCalc or BridgeDays; LeaveGain and Leavelift are Unconfirmed on .ics |
What BeadCalc wins is narrower but real. It is fully free with no account and no paywalled tier, where Leavelift gates year-round planning and premium exports behind Pro. It lets you tap working days as company days directly on the calendar, it hands you a plain-text leave list to paste into a request, and it shows three strategies for the same input instead of one recommended plan, including the unfiltered list that exposes candidates the budget would hide. For a Japan 2027 planner, those are practical advantages. For anyone planning outside its 10 countries, or beyond 2027, they do not matter, because the tool does not cover the trip.
What was left out, and what to check before you book
Two tools were considered and excluded, each for one stated reason. Vacation Extender is a Python command-line package on PyPI, not a web tool, so it cannot sit in a web-planner comparison. The SmartCalculator SG annual leave optimiser is a public web tool, but it covers Singapore only and its summary did not mention .ics export, so it stayed out of the top three and remains a single-country alternative rather than a general rival.
Mainland China deserves a sentence of its own, because it is the easiest misreading of this article. The BeadCalc tool version covered here does not include mainland China 2027 data. The 2027 schedule will be added after the State Council publishes the 2027 holiday arrangements. Until then, a reader planning around mainland China holidays needs a different source, and no figure in this article fills that gap.
Finally, three checks before any date in this article turns into a booked request. First, the tool data is built into the page for 2027 and its source note cites Nager.Date checked against official calendars on 2026-10-26; check anything that matters against the official calendar and your employer policy before booking, since governments move holidays and contracts vary. Second, the .ics file itself was verified, but its imported display in Google Calendar, Outlook, or Apple Calendar was not tested in this round. Third, the rival figures in this article are homepage statements, not re-runs: prices, free-plan limits, and coverage can change, and the Unconfirmed cells are the places where a re-check is most likely to change the answer.
Try the measured input yourself in the Leave Optimizer: Japan, 4 days of leave, Saturday-Sunday weekend, no company days. The longest single break should read 12 days off from 2027-04-24 to 2027-05-05, and the spread-evenly total should read 19 days off.
Frequently asked questions
Which planner covers the most countries?
BridgeDays, with 206 countries for 2026 to 2028. BeadCalc covers 10 countries for 2027 only, LeaveGain covers Malaysia and Singapore, and Leavelift covers the United States and Canada.
Can I download the plan as a calendar file?
BeadCalc offers a leave-2027.ics download, and BridgeDays saves a standard .ics file that Google Calendar, Outlook, and Apple Calendar can import. For LeaveGain and Leavelift, .ics support is Unconfirmed: neither homepage names the .ics format, and Leavelift premium exports belong to its Pro plan.
Why is there no head-to-head winner on the Japan input?
LeaveGain and Leavelift do not cover Japan, so the Japan input cannot be run through them. BridgeDays does cover Japan, but no BridgeDays run was made for this article, so no BridgeDays Japan figure is claimed here.
What is the difference between the 12 days and the 19 days in the Japan example?
12 days is the longest single break: 2027-04-24 to 2027-05-05 from 4 leave days. 19 days is the spread-evenly total across four separate breaks from the same 4 leave days. The all-opportunities list is a third view: every candidate, unfiltered by budget, topped by a 7-day break for 1 leave day at 7.0x.
Does BeadCalc cover mainland China in 2027?
No. Mainland China 2027 data is not in this version of the tool. It will be added after the State Council publishes the 2027 holiday arrangements.
Run the numbers yourself
Run the Japan example yourself: pick Japan, enter 4 days of leave, and compare all three strategies on the same input.
This guide is educational. Its worked examples come from the site's own leave optimizer and the 2027 public-holiday data it cites; they are not a substitute for your employer's leave policy. Confirm blackout dates, request deadlines and leave-year rules with your employer before booking time off.